jump to navigation

Melissa Etheridge 2005 Grammy Awards Performance March 8, 2014

Posted by Jason Wilde in Uncategorized.
trackback

I mentioned this on the show a few weeks back and promised to post the video. Melissa is performing a Janis Joplin tribute with Joss Stone at the 2005 Grammy Awards.

As I said on the show, I think Melissa’s performance here is awesome. I’m not a particular fan of Janis Joplin’s music (I look forward to your emails), so it’s not like I have a particular affection for the songs performed here. I’m also just a casual fan of Melissa Etheridge.

But this is one of the best television performances ever (side note: it’s too bad no one saw this performance–the 2005 Grammys may be the lowest-rated in history).  Obviously, it’s emotional because Melissa had been undergoing breast cancer treatment (hence, no hair), but this is a classic case of a performer having amazing stage presence. Joss Stone is quite the accomplished singer, and I think also gives a great performance, but it’s as if she isn’t there. This is Melissa’s moment, and she OWNS the stage. And everyone knows it.

I love the look on her face when she sings, “I’m gonna show you baby that a woman can be tough.” Wow.

I got teary-eyed when I saw it live, and I get teary-eyed when I watch it now.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

